Fourteenth Northeast Asia Economic Forum

Shenyang, China, 20–22 September 2005

Organized by

The Northeast Asia Economic Forum and Shenyang Municipal Government

Implemented by

Shenyang Science and Technology Bureau

Cooperating Institutions

Beijing Institute for Frontier Science, East-West Center, National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA), Japan Committee for the Promotion of an Asian Energy Community (JCPAEC), China API, Shenyang Jianzhu University

Agenda

MONDAY, 19 SEPTEMBER 2005

All-day Check-in at Hotel

Shenyang Marriott Hotel Tel: 86-24-23883456 388 Qing Nian Da Street, He Ping District Fax: 86-24-23880677

Shenyang, Liaoning 110003 China

18:30 Reception and banquet for Northeast Asia Economic Forum at Marriott Hotel

TUESDAY, 20 SEPTEMBER 2005

21st Century Conference Hall Shiji Road #1, Hunnan New District, Shenyang 辽宁省沈阳市浑南新区世纪路1号

8:30 Board bus in front of hotel to go to 21st Century Conference Hall

9:00-10:45 Opening Ceremony

Chair: LEE-JAY CHO, Chairman, Northeast Asia Economic Forum

Welcoming remarks by **ZHAO JINCHENG**, Chairman of CPPCC Shenyang Municipal Committee

Message from His Excellency **ROH TAE WOO**, former President of the Republic of Korea. Delivered by The Honorable **WON-SHIK CHUNG**, Former Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea

Message from **Dr. TARO NAKAYAMA**, Former Foreign Minister of Japan, Member of Parliament of Japan and Honorary Conference Chairman,

Congratulatory Remarks by **George Ariyoshi**, Former Governor of Hawaii and Honorary Conference Chairman

KWAN-YONG PARK, Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Republic of Korea

GLYN FORD, Member of the European Parliament

STEVE COWPER, Former Governor of Alaska, Chairman of the North America Committee of NEAEF and President, Steve Cowper & Associates

HISAO KANAMORI, Chairman, Kanamori Committee of Japan

PAVEL MINAKIR, Director, Economic Research Institute, Far Eastern Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences, Khabarovsk, Russia

BAT-ERDENIIN BATBAYAR, Advisor to the Prime Minister and Chairman of the Northeast Asia Association of Mongolia

Keynote address by **Song Jian**, Former Vice Chairman of CPCC and Honorary Conference Chairman

10:45–11:15 Tea/Coffee break and group photo

11:15–12:45 Session 1: Grand Design for Future Development in Northeast Asia

Chair: **TAKAFUSA SHIOYA**, President, National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA)

SHI YULONG, Director, Department of City Development Research, Institute of Land and Economic Research, China Development and Planning Committee

WON-BAE KIM, Senior Fellow, Korea Research Institute for Human Settlements

TOSHIYASU NODA, Director, National Planning Division, National Regional Planning Bureau, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport, Japan

Commentators

YASUO SAWAI, Executive Vice President, National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA)

KENJI SUMIDA, President, Pacific and Asian Affairs Council and Former President, East-West Center

CHEN HONG, President, China Logistics and Transport College, and Vice President, Logistics Association of China

BATBOLD ZAGDRAGCHAA, Policy Research Fellow, Open Society Forum Mongolia

12:45-14:00 Lunch

14:00–16:30 Session 2: Energy Markets, Energy Efficiency, Conservation, Technology Transfer & Investment in Northeast Asia

Chair: STEVE COWPER, Former Governor of Alaska, Board of Directors, NEAEF and President, Steve Cowper & Associates

Special keynote address by **SAM DALE**, Singapore Bureau Chief, Energy Intelligence

ANDREY G. KORZHUBAEV, Economist, Institute of Petroleum Geology, Siberian Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk

SHEN LONGHAI, Director, EMC Committee of China Energy Conservation Association

15:00–15:30 Tea/Coffee break

15:30–16:30 *Commentators*

SHIN JEONG-SHIK, Former President, Korea Energy Economics Institute (KEEI)

VLADIMIR IVANOV, Director of Research, Economic Research Institute for Northeast Asia (ERINA)

ZHOU DADI, Director General, Energy Bureau, the State Development and Reform Commission, China

XU XIAOJIE, Senior Fellow, ETRC/CNPC, Beijing and Professor, Geopolitics, ECN University, Shanghai

YASUO TANABE, Vice President, Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry (RIETI), Japan

ZHANG JIANPING, Deputy Division Chief, Institute for International Economic Research, National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC)

YOSHITERU NISHIE, Engineer and Advisor, International Power Business Department, J-Power, Japan

17:00-18:30 Dinner

19:00–20:00 Opening Ceremony of Northeast Asia Hi-Tech Fair

Shenyang International Convention Center

WEDNESDAY, 21 SEPTEMBER 2005

21st Century Conference Hall

9:00 Board bus to go to 21st Century Conference Hall

9:30-11:10 Session 3: Revitalization of Northeast China and Regional Cooperation in Northeast Asia

Chair: LEE-JAY CHO, Chairman, Northeast Asia Economic Forum

SONG XIAOWU, Vice Chairman, Revitalization of Northeast China Office

Commentators

JAE-HYONG HONG, Member of Parliament, Republic of Korea

GLYN FORD, Member of the European Parliament

BAT-ERDENIIN BATBAYAR, Advisor to the Prime Minister and Chairman of the Northeast Asia Association of Mongolia

TAKAFUSA SHIOYA, President, National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA)

LI CHAO, Communications Manager, Tumen Secretariat, UNDP Beijing

11:10–11:30 Tea/Coffee Break

11:30–13:00 Session 4: High Technology, Information Technology Cooperation and Development in Northeast Asia

Co-Chairs: JUNG-UCK SEO, Chairman of E-Trade Promotion Committee and

former Minister of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

SUK-CHAE LEE, Former Minister, Ministry of Information and

Communications, Republic of Korea

ZHANG JINGAN, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Science and Technology, China

JAECHON PARK, Professor, Inha University, Seoul

HAJIME ONIKI, Professor, Osaka-Gakuin University, Japan

Commentators

PAVEL MINAKIR, Director, Economic Research Institute, Far Eastern Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences, Khabarovsk, Russia

SAIKHANBILEG CHIMED, Chairman, Information, Communication and Technology Authority of Mongolia

HISATAKE NARITA, President, Cable Television Toyama, Japan

13:00–14:00 Coffee/Tea Break

14:00–15:30 Closing Session

Chair: Lee-Jay Cho

Summaries by four Session Chairs

Shenyang Declaration

Concluding speech by a Shenyang municipal government leader

Closing of the Fourteenth Forum

THURSDAY, 22 SEPTEMBER 2005

Field Trip: City Tour

THURSDAY, 23 SEPTEMBER 2005

Check out of hotel and departure from Shenyang